The Big Ten Open Books collections offer an insightful journey into crucial themes shaping our world. Exploring gender and sexuality, the evolution of norms, Indigenous North American history, and the experiences of African, Asian, and Hispanic Americans, these collections invite readers to rethink roles, spirituality, migration, and cultural dynamics. They also examine humanity's environmental impact through conservation and sustainability, address health disparities and different abilities, illuminating societal impacts on adversity, inequality, and overall well-being.
Together, these five collections foster thoughtful scholarship and knowledge sharing from the collaboration of the Big Ten Academic Alliance university presses and affiliated libraries.
Published Collections
Gender and Sexuality Studies (2023)
This collection explores the complexities of gender and sexuality, examining cultural, historical, and social influences that shape identity and expression. Through interdisciplinary and intersectional perspectives, the books explore themes like power dynamics, reproductive rights, body politics, and the evolution of sexual norms. By highlighting personal narratives and societal changes, the collection provides a nuanced understanding of the challenges and triumphs in gender and sexuality. It invites readers to engage with transformative ideas and reimagine traditional roles and relationships.
Indigenous North Americans (2025)
This collection explores Indigenous North American history, culture, and literature, from the 15th century to today. It examines historical encounters, the interplay between Native spirituality and culture, colonial religion, and land dispossession. Key events such as the evolution of Indigenous law, diplomacy, and education are examined. The voices of Indigenous poets and authors illuminate literary traditions, while themes of resistance and adaptation are showcased through treaty negotiations and verbal arts, capturing enduring contributions to North American history.
Please note: The books in this collection were published a number of years ago. They may include outdated representations of Indigenous culture and society.