What will you find on CanLII
Legal Decisions
The CanLII.org website provides access to court judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada, federal courts, and the courts in all Canada’s provinces and territories. CanLII.org also contains decisions from many federal and provincial administrative tribunals.
When CanLII was established in 2001, it started by publishing current cases, which courts and tribunals sent us as they were written. For most Canadian courts and tribunals, our collection is generally complete for cases decided after 2001.
We have also completed several projects to add historical cases, that is pre-2001 cases, with the goal of offering a comprehensive resource for jurisprudence for access to Canadian law. See this page to learn about recent additions of historical cases.
For a list of our databases with details of their scope, please see this page.
Legislation
CanLII provides access to consolidated statutes and regulations as well as annual statutes for all jurisdictions in Canada. Each jurisdiction has a dedicated page detailing the specific coverage available for it.
Commentary
CanLII provides access to various types of secondary law materials, from law books, journals, articles, reports, and other resources. These materials are available electronically in CanLII.org’s Commentary section. Click here to browse this material.
Finally, our companion website, CanLII Connects, hosts a database of case commentary and case summaries by the legal community. This commentary is linked to and based on the caselaw on CanLII.org.