LibGuides: IPLP Resource Guide: American Indian Law: SECONDARY SOURCES

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND GUIDES

American Jurisprudence : A Modern Comprehensive Text Statement of American Law, State and Federal
Call Number: REFERENCE
Publication Date: 1962 - Updated Periodically
American jurisprudence 2d is available in print in Reference and online through both Westlaw and Lexis Advance (UA Law subscription required). Topic is Indians; Native Americans. Provides case citations and West's Key Number. (See Volume 41 for print).
The Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition by Bruce E. Johansen; Charles R. Cloud (Foreword by)
Call Number: KF8204 .E53 1998 (Reference)
ISBN: 0313301670
Publication Date: 1998-02-24
This encyclopedia includes detailed descriptions of nearly two dozen Native American Nations' legal and political systems such as the Iroquois, Cherokee, Choctaw, Navajo, Cheyenne, Creek, Chickasaw, Comanche, Sioux, Pueblo, Mandan, Wyandot, Powhatan, Mikmaq, and Yakima. It includes outlines of many major Indian law cases, congressional acts, and treaties. It also contains profiles of individuals important to the evolution of Indian law.
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Paul Finkelman (Editor); Tim Alan Garrison (Editor)
Call Number: KF8205 .E525 2009 (Reference)
ISBN: 9781933116983
Publication Date: 2008-12-23
This two-volume set includes nearly 700 entries examining the history of relations and reciprocal role that U.S. and Native policy and law have played in American political development. Entries include biographical sketches, culture, policy, doctrine, military, and law.
Native Americans and the Law: A Dictionary by Gary A. Sokolow
Call Number: KF8203.6 .S66 2000 (Reference)
ISBN: 0874368774
Publication Date: 2000-11-10
The A-Z entries in this volume answer the most commonly asked questions about the laws as they affect Native Americans. * A-Z entries provide coverage of key court decisions, case studies, concepts, individuals, tribes, organizations, and agencies.
Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian by Barry T. Klein
Call Number: E76.2 .R4 2018 (Law Reference)
ISBN: 9780873400459
Publication Date: 2018
This single volume is divided into four sections. The first section contains source listings. Each listing includes address, phone number, contact, and, in most cases, a brief description of activities and pertinent information. Included are tribal nations and communities and law firms either specializing in Indian law or have an Indian law section. The second section is Canadian listings. The third section of the book is a bibliography of approximately 10,000 in-print books. The fourth section contains approximately 3,000 listings of which there are more than 1,500 biographical sketches.
Tiller's Guide to Indian Country by Veronica E. Velarde Tiller (Editor); LaDonna Harris (Preface by)
Call Number: E93 .T55 2015 (Reference)
ISBN: 9781885931061
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Tiller's Guide to Indian Country provides economic profiles of tribal enterprises owned by 568 Indian tribes and Alaskan Native villages in thirty-three states. Included are profiles of history, culture, environment, and enterprises of each community, contact information and profiles of on leading tribal enterprises, businesses doing business with tribes, and nonprofit organizations that have made significant contributions to economic development in Indian Country.
Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty by Donald L. Fixico (Editor)
Call Number: KF8203.6 .T74 2008 (Reference)
ISBN: 1576078809
Publication Date: 2007-12-12
This three-volume set includes essays and entries on treaties and agreements between both the U.S. and Canada with indigenous peoples. Some primary source treaty materials are included.

Ebooks

These ebooks are available on campus or with your University of Arizona NetID:

Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Paul Finkelman and Tim Alan Garrison, Editors

JOURNALS & NEWSLETTERS

The following is a selected list of law reviews and finding aids. Refer to our LibGuide Legal and Academic Journals for additional tips.

American Indian Law Review

Published by the University of Oklahoma College of Law, this law review focuses legal scholarship on "Native Americans and indigenous people worldwide." Archive of issues (2013-present) on the law review's website. UA community may access full archive on HeinOnline. UA Law community may access on Westlaw and Lexis.

Tribal Law Journal

Published on-line by the University of New Mexico School of Law, this journal focuses on internal indigenous law, especially "tribal court case comments, reflections on tribal systems, the development of tribal law, the value of tribal law, interviews, and teachings." Full archive on website.

NARF Legal Review

A biannual newsletter with updates on Native American Rights Fund (NARF) cases and other topics on Indian law. Full archive of issues (1972 - present) available on NARF website.

Tribal Court Clearinghouse - Indian Law Reviews

Tribal Court Clearinghouse selective bibliography of articles and papers on the topic of Indian law with descriptions and links to source material.

Indian Law Bulletin - Law Review and Bar Journal Articles

The National Indian Law Library selects articles for a monthly bulletin of citations to articles published in law reviews and bar journals on the topic of Indian law. Access the current year's bulletins or the archive (2003 - past year).

ADDITIONAL TREATISES, MONOGRAPHS, & SERIES

Alaska Natives and American Laws by David S. Case; David A. Voluck
Call Number: KFA1705 .C37 2012 (Law State Section)
ISBN: 9781602231757
Publication Date: 2012-11-15
Covering 1867-2011, this text provides background on the history of policy and law as applied to Alaskan Natives. The text covers the broad themes of indigenous rights to land, subsistence, services, and sovereignty. The text also considers indigenous rights in international law. Content: The federal relationship to Alaska natives -- Aboriginal title -- Reservations -- Native allotments and townsites -- ANCSA: the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act -- History of Alaska native services -- Native entitlement to services -- Subsistence in Alaska -- Modern Alaska native governments and organizations -- Sovereignty : Alaska native self-government. An ebook is also available.
Arguing with Tradition: The Language of Law in Hopi Tribal Court by Justin B. Richland
Call Number: KF8228.H67 R53 2008
ISBN: 9780226712932
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Justin B. Richland is a linguistic anthropologist and Associate Professor of Anthropology and of the Social Sciences at the University of Chicago. In 2015 he was appointed by the Hopi Tribal Government as Associate Justice of the Hopi Appellate Court. From 2006-09 he previously served as Justice Pro Tempore. Arguing with Tradition is the result of extensive field research. Contents: Arguing with tradition in Native America -- Making a Hopi Nation : "Anglo" law comes to Hopi country -- "What are you going to do with the village's knowledge?" : language ideologies and legal power in Hopi tribal court -- "He could not speak Hopi. . . . that puzzle puzzled me" : the pragmatic paradoxes of Hopi tradition in court -- Suffering into truth : Hopi law as narrative interaction. An ebook is also available.
Children, Tribes, and States: Adoption and Custody Conflicts over American Indian Children by Barbara Ann Atwood
Call Number: KF8210.C45 A98 2010
ISBN: 159460522X
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
This text explores Indian child welfare, adoption, and custody conflicts with an examination of the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978 (ICWA).
Documents of United States Indian Policy by Francis Paul Prucha (Editor)
Call Number: KF8205 .D63 2000
ISBN: 0803287623
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
The 238 documents included in this edition cover the years 1783-2000. Topics included are tribal self-governance, government-to-government relations, religious rights, repatriation of human remains, trust management, health and education, federal recognition of tribes, presidential policies, and Alaska Natives.
Environmental Law in Indian Country by William H. Rodgers
Call Number: KF8210.E54 R7 2005
ISBN: 0314958002
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Environmental Law in Indian Country is a guide to understanding the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA). This publication covers NEPA, the Endangered Species Act, and the Wilderness Act. It focuses on the environmental work of tribes that play an important role in the environmental arena. The book uses chiefly Indian and tribal cases to illustrate the finer points of NEPA doctrine as it exists in the broader field of Indian law. The print copy is kept up to date by semi-annual supplements. Also available on Westlaw and Westlaw's Proview.
In the Courts of the Conqueror: The 10 Worst Indian Law Cases Ever Decided by Walter R. Echo-Hawk
Call Number: KF8205 .E34 2010
ISBN: 9781936218011
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Walter Echo-Hawk provides context to the legal destruction of Native Americans and their culture through examination of the legal doctrin in ten cases and each of their historical, contemporary, and political context from a Native perspective.
In the Light of Justice: The Rise of Human Rights in Native America and the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples by Walter R. Echo-Hawk; S. James Anaya (Foreword by)
Call Number: KF8205 .E24 2013
ISBN: 9781555916633
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
In 2007 the United Nations approved the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. United States endorsement in 2010 ushered in a new era of Indian law and policy. This book highlights steps that the United States, as well as other nations, must take to provide a more just society and heal past injustices committed against indigenous peoples. (Syndetics™ description)
Native Hawaiian Law: A Treatise by Melody Kapilialoha MacKenzi; editor-in-chief
Call Number: KFH454 .N37 2015 Reference
ISBN: 0873363426
Publication Date: 2015
Native Hawaiian Law: A Treatise is a collaborative effort of the Native Hawaiian Legal Corporation, Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law at the William S. Richardson School of Law – University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa, and Kamehameha Publishing. This is extensively updated and revised edition of the groundbreaking 1991 Native Hawaiian Rights Handbook offers a comprehensive overview as well as analysis of specific topics within this complex area of law. (Description from UH at Manoa Law's Scholarship website)
Sovereignty Symposium
Call Number: KF8205.A2 S68
The Supreme Court of Oklahoma sponsors the annual symposia, each year with a different theme. Published materials include papers and presentations of speakers. 1988. Indian law in the 1990's -- 1989. Divergent points of view -- 1990. The dialogue continues -- 1991. Circles of sovereignty -- 1992. Year of the Indian -- 1993. Word of the people -- 1994. Full faith and credit -- 1995. Looking ahead, looking back -- 1996. Mother earth, father sky -- 1997. Circles of life -- 1998. In the service of the law -- 1999. To face the future -- 2000. New journey -- 2001. Tribal odyssey. Language and the Law (war of words) --2002. From Sacagawea to space --2003. Building bridges --2004. Building more bridges, pooling our resources --2005. Common ground --2006. Peacekeepers --2008. Land, wind and water -- 2009. As long as the grass grows and the river flows -- 2010. Seeds of sovereignty --2011. Metamorphosis -- 2012. A fair impartial independent judiciary -- 2013. Tribal Nations - Global Impact -- 2014. Everything is interconnected -- 2015
Tribal Justice: Twenty-Five Years as a Tribal Appellate Judge by Frank Pommershein
Call Number: KF8205 .P66 2016
ISBN: 9781611636659
Publication Date: 2015-10-30
Tribal Justice reviews and surveys tribal appellate court jurisprudence. Topics covered include enrollment and disenrollment, civil rights, elections and political participation, criminal law and procedure, rights of juveniles, tribal constitutions, and tradition and custom. The book focuses on the procedure and substance of tribal court appellate decision-making.

Ebooks

These ebooks are available on campus or with your University of Arizona NetID:

Alaska Natives and American Law by David S. Case and David A. Voluck
Arguing with Tradition: The Language of Law in Hopi Tribal Court by Justin B. Richland
Documents of United States Indian Policy by Francis Paul Prucha (Editor)
In the Courts of the Conqueror: The 10 Worst Indian Law Cases Ever Decided by Walter Echo-Hawk

Available on Westlaw ONLY

The law library has prior editions in print. The most current edition is only available to UA Law students, faculty, and staff with Westlaw accounts.

American Indian Law Deskbook, 2018 ed. by Conference of Western Attorneys General (CWAG)
Call Number: Westlaw - Native American Law (UA Law ONLY)
ISBN: 9780314847362
Publication Date: May 2018
The authors of each of this handbook's chapters are state lawyers involved in Indian law cases.