Arizona Residential Landlord-Tenant Law

Tenant Specific:

• Arizona Tenants Advocates ​- Links to legal information and resources for tenants, including the ATA Break Lease Program.
• Pima County: Rental Resources - ​Links to Pima specific resources such as: housing searches, Section 8 Housing, Southwest Fair Housing Council, legal services, and tenant/landlord rights and responsibilities information.
• Southwest Fair Housing Council ​ - Links to legal resources for tenants, including explanation of protections offered by the Fair Housing Act.
• Tenant Rights (U.S. Dept. of Housing & Urban Development, HUD) - Links to resources on state specific landlord and tenant laws.
• Every Tenant's Legal Guide by Janet Portman - Print Nolo book available in library provides plain English explanations on negotiating a lease or rental agreement, understanding key rules in rent increases, privacy, and deposits, and breaking a lease with minimum financial liability - KF590.Z9 P67

• Renters' Rights by Marcia Stewart & Janet Portman; Marcia Stewart - Print Nolo book available in library provides guidance handling problems with landlords and roommates - KF590.Z9 P673

Landlord Specific:

• Arizona Landlord Tenant Blog - Posts, free forms, and links to AZ specific landlord and tenant information.  Maintained by attorney and author Carlton Casler.
• NOLO Guide for Landlords - Includes some free information, forms, and charts (both general and by state).  Also includes links to guides and manuals for purchase.
• NOLO Top Ten Tips for Landlords - Short list with explanation of best practices for landlords.
• Arizona Landlord's Deskbook by Carlton C. Casler - Print book available in library serves as a reference book for Arizona rental property owners and managers - KFA2517.Z9 C37
• Every Landlord's Legal Guide by Janet Portman. Marcia Stewart & Ralph Warner - Print Nolo book available in library gives provides landlords with the legal and practical solutions needed when renting residential property - KF590.Z9 S74

Landlord & Tenant: 

• Research Guide: Maricopa County Superior Court Law Library: Landlord and Tenant Research Guide
• Research Guide: Arizona State University Research Guide: Landlord-Tenant
• Evictions and Landlord/Tenant Law in Arizona: Information for Residential Tenants and Landlords by Andrew M. Hull. Print book available in library includes overviews of the law relating to apartments, houses and mobile homes - KFA 2517.Z9 H85
• Landlord and Tenant Law in a Nutshell, by David S. Hill; Carol N. Brown - Print book is a comprehensive guide to rules governing the legal relations between landlords and tenants - KF590.Z9 H45 (available at Main Library)
• Leases and Rental Agreements by Marcia Stewart, Ralph Warner, & Janet Portman - Print Nolo book available in library offers the essential rental forms for owning or managing rental property - KF590.Z9 S744
• Restatement of the Law Second, Property 2d, Landlord and Tenant by American Law Institute - Print volume available in library is a deeper treatment of topics relevant to the landlord-tenant relationship - KF395.A2 P7

Other Related Resources:

• Arizona Department of Housing - Provide link to the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.
• City of Tucson Office of Equal Opportunity Programs — Contains information about Tucson's policies against discrimination and links to complaint forms.
• Southwest Fair Housing Council - Provides housing discrimination information resources.
• Southern Arizona Legal Aid - Offers eviction prevention, unsafe housing, and home loss assistance.
• University of Arizona
  • University of Arizona Housing Resources - Includes sample legal forms and letter and handbooks