International Law Students Resource Guide

The Center for English as a Second Language (CESL) at the University of Arizona offers classes and tutoring for those seeking to practice and improve English language skills (speaking, listening, writing, and reading). Tutoring can be done face-to-face, online, or in a mixed setting, in both private and small group sessions. Fees apply.

Black's Law Dictionary (Thomson Reuters)

• The most widely used law dictionary in the U.S.
• It is the reference of choice for terms in legal briefs and court opinions and it has been cited as a secondary legal authority in many U.S.Supreme Court cases.
• Available online via your Westlaw account or in print in the library. 

Wex (Legal Information Institute (LII) -- Cornell Law)

• A free legal dictionary and encyclopedia.
• Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts
• For more information about Wex visit the Wex FAQ.

Arizona Law Writing Center -- The Arizona Law Writing Center provides a collection of helpful resources on legal writing, grammar, style, punctuation, citation, appellate advocacy, general lawyering skills, and writing competitions.

• The site also provides a section for ESL students.
• The Center offers live and online writing support from peer tutors to students in all College of Law degree programs.
• Visit the website to schedule an appointment, view drop-in hours, and checks dates for workshops and presentations.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) -- Site offers resources for English as a Second Language (ESL) students.

• Use the left column of this free resource guide offered by Purdue University to browse resources collated for students who have learned English as a second language.
• Exercises are also available on grammar, punctuation, spelling, sentence structure, style, writing numbers, paraphrasing and summarizing, and nominalization and subject position.

Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) -- Lessons designed for law students. CALI is free to Arizona law students, however first-time users must register using a student authorization code. Ask a librarian for assistance.

• Punctuation & Grammar -- Basic lesson -- covers proper use of apostrophes, commas, quotation marks, independent and dependent clauses, and semi-colons, in addition to addressing how to avoid run-on sentences
• Punctuation & Grammar -- Advanced lesson -- covers advanced topics in grammar and punctuation for the legal writer, including topics on colons, dashes, parallelism, and passive voice. 

Core Grammar for Lawyers -- This online, self-directed learning tool, is designed to help law students and legal professionals acquire the grammar and punctuation skills that are prerequisites to successful legal writing. This is a paid subscription platform that costs $40 for a year of access.

Grammark -- A free online tool that helps improve writing style and grammar and teaches students to self-edit. This open-source writing aid finds things in your writing that grammarians consider bad, highlights them, and suggests improvements. Specifically, Grammark helps with academic style, passive voice, wordiness, nominalizations, transitions, sentence variety, run-on sentences, "eggcorns," and grammar traps.

Grammarly -- Another free versatile tool that can help you detect grammar and spelling errors in informal and formal writing. You can use its online text editor, or download its desktop application, mobile app, browser extension, or MS Office add-in. It is compatible with both Windows and Mac. A premium, subscription-based version offers additional style and vocabulary support, as well as plagiarism checker.

Hemingway Editor -- The Hemingway App is a free text editor that highlights and corrects grammar, fluency, and sentence structure issues.