Skip to Main Content

International Law Students Resource Guide

PROFESSOR OFFICE HOURS

If you are having difficulty understanding concepts discussed in class, or want to make sure you are on the right track, visit your Professor in their designated office hours time, which should be noted in the course syllabus. The resource below offers some tips on how to make the most of these visits.

Tips on Making the Most of Professor's Office Hours --Law School Toolbox

USING STUDY AIDS

Study aids are meant to serve as a supplement to classroom learning, and indeed are often called "supplements." Use study aids to:

  • To gain a better understanding of concepts discussed in class
  • To practice the application of concepts through practice questions
  • To help with outlining and preparing for final exams

There are a few different categories of study aids, including case briefs, commercial outlines, explanations of the law, and problem-based study aids.​ 

Do not use study aids as a replacement to reading cases, attending class, or creating your own outlines. Also, do not waste time reading chapters in study aids that are not covered by your professor's syllabus. 

For additional guidance on using study aids in law school, review:​

LIBRARY STUDY AIDS

The Law Library provides a variety of study aids for law students. Details are available on the library's Student Services webpage. The library's study aids are available in print and online.

Print Collection 

  • A selection of study aids not found online which include, among others, the Glannon Guide series, Examples & Explanations series, Understanding series, Question & Answer series, and Concise Hornbook series.
  • The print collection covers topics taught at the law college.
  • The print collection is located behind the Circulation Desk on the library main level.

Online Collection

West Academic Study Aids -- The Law Library has a subscription to West Academic Study Aids, an online database which provides unlimited access to hundreds of law school study aids/supplements on a wide variety of topics divided into the following types of study aids/supplements:

  • Overviews - texts that provide an overview of a subject area and help reinforce class discussion and professor lectures
  • Outlines - texts that help you organize and understand legal rules and concepts covered in class
  • Case Briefs - texts that help you identify and understand key takeaways from cases in your assigned casebook
  • Hornbooks/Treatises - subject-specific texts that make great reference guides, as they cite and explain landmark cases, statutes, and articles
  • Exam Prep/Multiple Choice-- texts with information on taking exams and sample exam questions
  • Career Guides - texts to help you plan your legal career and get help with the job search
  • Academic Success - texts to help you get the most out of law school
  • Audio Lectures - study-aids and supplements in audio form

You must be on the university network or logged into West Academic to access this resources. See the Law Library's Student Services webpage "Study Aids" section for how to set up your West Academic Study Aids Account.

Computer Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)

  • The College of Law is a member of the Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI). The CALI website offers more than 1,000 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors on over 25 topical areas.
  • The eLangdell bookstore offers over 60 free e-case books and reference resources. 

Library LibGuides 

  • The Law Library LibGuide collection provides information on particular subjects or a course you may be taking at the law college.
  • LibGuides are located under the Research Services tab on the Law Library website and at the Law Library LibGuides webpage.