You will not have a problem finding study aids for your law courses, but you may have trouble choosing between the many, many options! The library has a variety of study aids series available in print and online.
Many law school study aids are part of a series. Each series presents information differently, some bare-bones, some highly in-depth. It is recommended that you browse through several of the series collections to find the ones that fit your needs and suit your learning style.
Acing Series study aids are available through West Academic which offers 16 of them on different subjects.
According to the publisher's website: "This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book."
Black Letter Outlines are available through West Academic which offers 31 of them on different subjects.
According to the publisher's website: "Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination."
Concise Hornbook Series study aids are available through West Academic which offers 53 of them on different subjects.
According to the publisher's website: "This Concise Hornbook is designed to be used as the primary or secondary text in a law school course. Many teachers of arbitration design their courses to develop a wide array of practice skills, generally through the use of role-playing exercises. Because this book is clear and concise, students reading it can quickly gain a solid understanding of arbitration’s central concepts and legal doctrines. This efficient use of time enables the teacher to devote many class sessions to role-playing exercises, and discussion of them. This Concise Hornbook can also serve as the primary text for arbitration seminars. Before venturing into a field of scholarship, students generally need a solid foundation in the field’s central concepts and legal doctrines. This book provides that foundation with only a limited amount of reading, thus enabling students to devote substantial time to the seminar’s more-advanced work of reading scholarly articles and writing original papers."
Exam Pro Series study aids are available through West Academic which offers 20 of them on different subjects.
According to the publisher's website:
Multiple choice and essay. XXX
The Examples & Explanations ("E&E") series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
https://www.aspenpublishing.com/study-aids/examples-explanations
Gilbert Law Summaries are available through West Academic which offers 31 of them on different subjects.
According to the publisher's website:
High Court Case Summaries are available through West Academic which offers 53 of them on different casebooks.
According to the publisher's website:
These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Hornbooks study aids are available through West Academic which offers 57 of them on different subjects.
Hornbooks are one-volume treatises written primarily for law students on subjects typically covered by law school courses. Unlike casebooks, which are collections of cases (or excerpts of cases) chosen to help illustrate and stimulate discussion about legal issues, hornbooks attempt to summarize and explain the law in a specific area.
Law Stories study aids are available through West Academic which offers 37 of them on different subjects.
The Law Stories series brings famous cases to life by telling the true, never-heard-before stories behind landmark cases. This fascinating series of texts covers significant cases in major areas of law, including tax, torts, constitutional law, civil procedure and property.
Short and Happy Guides are available through West Academic which offers 40 of them on different subjects.
According to the publisher's website:
Short and Happy Guides are short and written in a fun, lighthearted style which many students find engaging.
This study guide includes 192 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 24 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, the authors provide a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less, and includes a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.
Short and Happy Guides are available through West Academic which offers 40 of them on different subjects.
According to the publisher's website:
Short and Happy Guides are short and written in a fun, lighthearted style which many students find engaging.
Step-by-Step Guides are available through West Academic which offers guides about torts, contracts, and criminal law.
According to the publisher's website:
These guides are interactive workbooks designed to effectively prepare students to pass exams. The most heavily tested legal rules are presented in a format that mirrors the way they arise as issues in typical testing fact patterns. Rule statements are set out in easy-to-memorize statements, with a breakdown of the element components and logical steps to take to apply new facts to each legal element. Fluency with the legal terminology is also essential to exam success, so this Step-by-Step Guide includes fill-in-the-blank spaces to help you learn and memorize definitions of key terms as they are introduced, and a glossary of selected terms at the end for further reference.
Sum and Substance audio lectures are available through West Academic which offers lectures on 25 different topics, including criminal law, civil procedure, contracts, torts, and more.
According to the publisher's website: "Sum & Substance Audio Series provide you with dynamic lectures from gifted law professors whose years of teaching experience enable them to express even the most complex ideas clearly and succinctly. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance. These audio lectures are time saving, convenient and effective."
The concise, yet comprehensive, analysis contained in each Understanding title provides a foundation for true understanding of the subject and facilitates more than mere rote learning. LexisNexis.