Law School Success and Study Aid Resources

Moving beyond the outline format used by most students, this book uses a checklist format to lead students through the questions they need to ask and answer to fully analyze the legal questions they are trying to resolve. It assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but this book offers a systematic approach to problem solving.

This outline summarizes the black-letter rules of civil procedure. It covers general considerations, litigating step-by-step, authority to adjudicate, complex litigation, governing law, and former adjudication. It allows students to understand how their course materials fit together, doing so by conveying a conception of civil procedure-the relationships among the ideas and the law that constitute the subject. This book is carefully designed and written as a study aid in preparing for classes and as a review aid in studying for examinations, containing all the many special features that characterize the highly successful Black Letter Series of books, such as a glossary and sample examination questions and answers.

Rules of civil procedure govern everything that happens outside of criminal proceedings. This Nutshell provides a road map to navigating civil procedure rules and helps build a foundation for understanding the overall picture. Topics discussed include: jurisdiction, venue, and other court-selection issues; pleading, discovery, summary judgment, and other pretrial matters; adjudication, judgments, and appeals; multi-party/multi-claim proceedings, including class actions and multidistrict litigation; plus standing, the Erie doctrine, arbitration, and other important procedural issues. The new edition covers all the subjects dealt with in today's civil procedure courses, whether four or five or six hours in length.

Completely revised and up to date. Thoroughly covers federal class actions and other multi-party litigation, including case law, applicable rules and statutes, and important secondary sources. Covers all of the major topics of class action law and practice, such as commencement of a class action, requirements for class certification, class action discovery, notice to class members, opt-out rights, Seventh Amendment and due process issues, class settlements, remedies, appellate review, issue and claim preclusion, ethical issues, ADR, and third-party financing. Also contains a special focus on securities, mass tort, and employment discrimination class actions, as well as treatment of federal multidistrict litigation, defendant class actions, bankruptcy, joinder devices under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and shareholder derivative suits. Explores the latest cutting-edge issues in multi-party litigation and discusses numerous ground-breaking court decisions. This latest edition also contains a detailed treatment of the 2018 amendments to the federal class action rule.

This book will analyze legal procedure as part of a complicated interaction between private ordering and public intervention. Modern society brings people together in a variety of settings and injects an active state presence into all manner of everyday activities. Inevitably there are disputes. Yet, these disputes settle all around us, based on social norms or simply an understanding of what is right and what is wrong; what is contestable and what is not. This private ordering of responsibility occurs against a backdrop, sometimes but certainly not always invoked, of what might occur were the matter to be taken to the more costly system of public dispute resolution. In this sense, disputants outside the legal system are said to be bargaining in the shadow of the law. For those who cannot privately order their disputes, there are two public interests. The first is to provide a public resolution such that future similarly situated disputants may be better able to anticipate what are the likely outcomes should they proceed to litigation. The second is to provide finality so that the disputants may get on with their affairs. The central thrust of this book will be to examine the overall structure of public dispute resolution through six basic concepts: 1. rudimentary fairness and the trade off between equity and efficiency; 2. defining the parameters of a dispute in terms of the presentation of issues and the obtaining of information; 3. defining the scope of the dispute in terms of parties, particularly as the judicial system confronts increasingly complex litigation; 4. defining the power of the courts; 5. securing finality; and 6. the costs of procedure.

This Concise Hornbook covers the main points of civil procedure that any student needs to understand, and covers them briefly but thoroughly enough to be understandable. It focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on civil procedure, tied to no one casebook. It breaks down the subject of civil procedure along the standard lines: a brief orientation; then a lengthier overview of the stages of litigation, followed by a close inspection of the major procedural problems (governing law, authority to adjudicate, former adjudication, and complex litigation); and finally some reflections in conclusion. It discusses specific problems and illustrations, with the aid of generously sprinkled diagrams and special text boxes. Special attention was given to fitting the civil procedure course's main points together to form the big picture, with each topic ending in a section on the "big idea" (separation of powers, vertical federalism, horizontal federalism, full faith and credit, or procedural due process) that the student is supposed to take from the topic.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

The new edition contains five objective exams in civil procedure with a total of 125 objective questions. Each exam consists of 25 objective problems followed by five multiple-choice answers. Each problem is based on recently decided federal district or appellate court decisions. Exam Pro provides the answers and a detailed analysis to enhance understanding of civil procedure. The tear-out answer sheets simulate exam conditions. This edition reflects the typical course coverage in the now standard four credit-hour, one semester civil procedure course. The exam problems have been updated to reflect recent Supreme Court decisions on civil procedure issues, as well as recent amendments to the Federal Rules that became effective December 2015.

Now current up to 2018, the second edition of this one-volume text presents a clear and concise overview of one of the most challenging topics covered in a standard 1L civil procedure course: subject matter jurisdiction of federal courts. Whether you are grappling with the Court's recent Spokeo opinion or the classic Osborn decision, you'll find this book engaging. Written by an award-winning classroom professor, this updated Nutshell makes extensive use of diagrams and flowcharts, while using scores of examples and hypotheticals, to illustrate key concepts. The book is targeted especially to students studying civil procedure, but it will also be of value for students in other courses covering topics such as federal courts, complex litigation, and civil rights. In addition, this volume will provide practitioners with a quick, clear refresher on the basics of federal civil jurisdiction.

The topics discussed in this law-school study outline include territorial (personal) jurisdiction (including venue and forum non conveniens) and subject-matter jurisdiction (covering diversity jurisdiction, federal-question jurisdiction, removal and supplemental jurisdiction). The Summary provides an accessible explanation of the Erie doctrine and federal common law. It introduces contemporary doctrine on pleadings (including counterclaims, crossclaims, amendments and supplemental pleadings) and joinder of parties (including joinder and class actions). Coverage also includes discovery. There is a full chapter addressing summary judgment. Another chapter covers pretrial conferences, settlement-promotion devices, and the increasingly important topic of arbitration. The trial chapter covers the right to jury trial, trial motions, jury instruction and arguments, and post-verdict motions. There are also chapters on appeals and preclusion (both claim and issue preclusion). The Summary begins with an extensive Capsule Summary of all the topics covered, and also includes Review Questions keyed to the outline's coverage, and sample essay questions and answers. Throughout the outline, there are also Exam Tips and charts to summarize and explain the material.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.  Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.

Designed for students in advanced courses and newly revised, this book explains the leading principles of federal jurisdiction. It covers such landmarks as Marbury v. Madison and Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents and the rules that govern original and appellate jurisdiction, justiciability and abstention, federal habeas corpus, and sovereign immunity. It treats the enemy combatant cases, and the aftermath of Boumediene, and recent Supreme Court decisions on such diverse issues as the legal foundation of the Ex parte Young action and the nationwide injunction, the sharp restriction of the Teague retroactivity doctrine, the curtailment of the Bivens action, the reaffirmation of suits for nominal damages, and the jurisdictional nuances of consumer class action litigation. Perhaps most importantly, the book provides students with a sense of the argumentative possibilities available to lawyers and jurists working within the federal courts’ tradition.

This study guide uses over 300 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of the nature and operation of the rules that govern procedure in the federal courts in the United States. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Civil Procedure also includes a comprehensive topical index.

Of the first-year subjects, Civil Procedure is the most foreign to students' experience. This book unlocks Civil Procedure by explaining doctrine and rules and placing them in context - explaining the role of each and how each doctrine relates to the others. It includes a chapter on how law school differs from college and what that means for class- and exam-preparation. It provides concrete analytical frameworks for resolving exam questions. And throughout, scores of examples allow you to apply the law to fact patterns.

This well-established treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure. It also reflects the authors' belief that students of civil procedure can understand and appreciate complex principles when they are clearly presented; teaching civil procedure does not require dumbing it down. The authors use the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as a model, but they also refer to different state rules and doctrines where appropriate in order to present a representative cross-section of state models. Although they discuss important civil procedure cases in the text, thus supporting the most widely used civil procedure casebooks using these same cases, they also provide useful references to secondary sources and illustrative cases for the reader who wants to explore further. Finally, they also treat thoroughly the most recent developments in personal jurisdiction and electronic discovery, with special attention to the latest rule changes affecting such discovery. The resulting treatise is sophisticated, clear, and current, equally accessible and useful to students and practitioners.