Arizona Secondary & Practice Materials

Civil law practice focuses on legal disputes between parties who seek money or another specific performance. Criminal charges or penalties are not at issue. 

Civil litigation can lead to a trial where a judge or jury may decide the matter, but frequently parties are required to first undergo arbitration or mediation processes to try to settle the lawsuit without going to court. 

In Arizona, as elsewhere, civil law practice encompasses a broad range of specialized areas. The list of practice materials below includes civil practice and litigation materials available in the Law Library collection. 

Arizona ADR Forum - (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2960.3.A15 A75 2003). Biannual newsletter on current issues in Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) practice. 

Court Assigned Arbitration - (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA296.5.A75 C68 2012). Guide to the arbitration process from the arbiter's perspective. Includes arbitration statutes and rules, case flow chart, ethical issues, arbitration packet, and hearing process. 

Foundations of Mediation - (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2960.A75 F68 2013). Series of short seminar materials introduces Modest Means volunteers to a specific area of practice so that they may better serve their clients. The Modest Means Project provides low-cost legal assistance to people who cannot afford the expertise of attorneys at the standard rates, but who cannot qualify for free legal services due to income qualification or other restrictions. 

Private Arbitration Updates: Basic, Advanced and Best Practices - (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2960.5.Z9 P75 2007). Seminar manual includes the Arizona Arbitration Act and the Federal Arbitration Act, a guide to commercial arbitration rules and mediation procedures, a chart summary of Arizona case law on private arbitration under Arizona's Arbitration Act, a guide to mediation and arbitration for business people, and the code of ethics for arbitrators in commercial disputes. In addition, there are articles on arbitration, hypotheticals, drafting checklist and options for ADR clauses, sample arbitrator disclosure letter, and sample order.

Arizona Appellate Handbook 2.0 - (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2955.A97 2020). The Arizona Appellate Handbook was revised in 2020. This 2-volume loose-leaf set is written by expert judges and practitioners in appellate law and provides explanations of case law, provides interpretations of statutes, and clarifies court rules and procedures related to appellate practice in Arizona.

• Volume 1: The first twelve chapters address appeals, in general, and issues implicated by appeals of all kinds. The remaining six chapters supplement the first twelve, addressing special considerations in specific types of appeals (e.g., civil, criminal, family, etc.).
• Volume 2: This volume addresses the forms of review that take place outside of the supreme court and the court of appeals (for example, the appellate capacity of the superior court in hearing appeals from limited jurisdiction courts). The volume also addresses special considerations associated with appeals from particular agencies, and provides a summary chart of the Administrative Review Act and Administrative Procedure Act. 

Third Annual Appellate Practice South of the Gila - (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2913.A93 2006). Guide to appellate practice including e-filing and the "paperless court," special actions, and tips for oral and written appellate advocacy.

Arizona Civil Remedies - (State Bar of Arizona, 5th ed.) (KFA2947.A93 2024). This two-volume loose-leaf guide provides a practical approach to commercial and consumer law issues. Topics include injunctions, prejudgment seizure of property, Provision Remedies Act, replevin, attachment, garnishment, remedies for creditors in Mexico, declaratory judgments, rescission and specific performance, landlord-tenant relationships, real property foreclosures, and remedies in proceedings under the bankruptcy code. 

Guide to Arizona Statutes of Limitation -- (Maricopa County Bar Association) (KFA2936.L5 G85 2011). Guide is intended as an aid in reducing the loss of viable claims due to missed statutes of limitation and incidence of malpractice claims arising out of such errors. Coverage includes accrual, tolling and others aspects of limitations in commercial law, criminal law, family law, insurance law, labor law, personal actions or injuries, probate, real property and taxation. More recent editions available from the Maricopa County Bar Association. 

Time Limitations Applicable to Civil Actions & Procedures in the Arizona Superior Courts (State Bar) (KFA2934.T5 M87 2019). Compilation of all time limits applicable to civil actions and procedures in Arizona Superior Courts. The 2019 editions includes recent changes to the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure and the Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure. Also includes selected case annotations.

The Rules They Are A-Changin’: 2014 Arizona Civil Rules Update -- (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2929.A75 R86 2014). Addresses the changes to Arizona civil rules in 2014. Note: does not address any rules changes post 2014. 

West's Arizona Civil Practice Law and Rules - (Thomson Reuters) (KFA2929.A192 A75 2007). Comprehensive guide to civil litigation practice. Includes full text of Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure and Arizona Rules of Evidence, explanatory comments on rule origin and purpose, citations to relevant cases, and a correlation table. Updated annually.

Arizona Legal Malpractice Law -- (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2596.2.E58 2015). Introduction to Arizona legal malpractice law. Addresses lawsuits against attorneys by clients including causes of actions for clients (e.g., negligence, breach of fiduciary duty and fraud) and non-clients (negligence, breach of fiduciary duty, intentional torts, and vicarious liability).

Arizona Tort Law Handbook -- (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2595.Z9 A75 2012 & 2015 supp.). Central source for Arizona tort law from a practical perspective. Addresses commonly encountered tort questions arising from a variety of tort causes of action. Includes index.

Arizona Trial Handbook - (Thomson Reuters, vol. 8) (KFA2480.A74 2005). Part of the Arizona Practice Series, this handbook provides all the civil and criminal trial rules you need in one place. Arranged topically to facilitate researching issues that occur before, during, and immediately after the trial phase of cases in Arizona state courts. Chapters are organized in the order that events occur to make it easy to locate rules and citations to statutes and cases. Updated annually.

Arizona Trial Practice Manual -- (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2938.A77 2015). Loose-leaf volume serves as a "how to" for the legal practitioner on the essentials at Arizona trial practice. Text provides the rules governing the trial process and hints on how to try a case. Incudes sample motions, pleadings, and trial presentations. Includes specific sections on criminal, bankruptcy, family law, and probate trials. Available technologies are also addressed. 

Civil Practice & Procedure Track - CLE by the Sea Manual (State Bar of Arizona) (KFA2929.C585 2023). Manual, covering three-day event, addresses various topics related to civil law practice and procedure, including peremptory challenges & changes to jury selection; case dispositive motions; juror questions; recovering from mistakes/changing course during trial; differences between state and federal practice; use of AI by litigators; and trial court practice appellate considerations.

Civil Trial Practice - (Thomson Reuters, 2d ed., vols. 2 & 2A) (KFA2480.A74 2001). Part of the Arizona Practice Series, this volume provides a step-by-step guide to all aspects of the procedures that govern civil practice. Includes citations to state procedure rules, statutes, and appellate decisions, practice material for case preparation, and checklists and outlines summarizing pertinent rules and requirements for specific types of action. Tables of statutes, cases, court rules, and an index included.  Updated annually.

Revised Arizona Jury Instructions - Civil - (State Bar of Arizona & LexisNexis, 6th ed.) (KFA2942.6.A65 R4 2017). Loose-leaf volume contains samples of jury instructions by type of civil case. Updated 6th edition includes new instructions added to Intentional Torts and new Agency, Defamation, and Residential Eviction Actions instructions. Also includes updates to cases cited on all instructions and a comprehensive index.

Law of Evidence - (Thomson Reuters, 4th ed. rev., vol. 1) (KFA2480.A74 2008). Part of the Arizona Practice Series, this volume is a comprehensive analysis of the law of evidence in Arizona, organized to parallel the structure of the Arizona Rules of Evidence. Expert commentary on the Arizona rules and discussion of Arizona cases on point. The full text of the Arizona Rules of Evidence appears within the text. The appendix contains the Federal Rules of Evidence. Also includes a table of laws and rules, a table of cases, and an index. 

Arizona Legal Forms - Civil Procedure - (Thomson Reuters, 3d ed., vols. 1, 2, & 2A) (KFA2468.A75 2002). Part of the Arizona Legal Forms series. A 3-volume set containing hundreds of forms used in civil practice in Arizona. 

• Special to this edition in Appendix A is a disposition table reflecting Civil Rules abrogated September 2, 2016 and new rules effective January 1, 2017, along with commentary addressing the effects of the 2017 rules.
• The set contains forms related to new attorneys' fees rule, guidelines for using the forms, explanations of scope and use of forms, discussion of time periods and deadlines for procedural steps in civil actions, and an index. 
• Updated with supplements.