Some of these resources require login credentials, or may only be available to law school students and staff by use of a NetID.
HeinOnline Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law (formerly American Indian Law Collection)
Our license provides access to many digitized state, federal, and international materials available on HeinOnline. The Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law has nearly nearly 3,800 titles and more than 1.5 million total pages dedicated to American Indian Law. This collection includes hundreds of treaties, treaty-related publications, tribal codes, constitutions, federal case law, government reports, scholarly works, and the entirety of Title 25 (Indians) of the U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations. This collection also features compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen. The collection's scholarly articles date from 1921 - present. Must be on campus network or have current UA status to access remotely.
When using this database, check out our library's LibGuide HeinOnline.
LLMC Digital Native American Collection
LLMC Digital provides access to a collection of digitized legal literature and government documents previously available only in microfiche, including primary law from federal legislative, executive,and judicial branches of government. The Native American Collection includes a selection of historical constitutions, laws, treaties, federal government documents, and treatises. Access restricted to UA Law campus and affiliates.
LLMC Digital Indigenous Law Portal
The Indigenous Law Portal from LLMC Digital provides access to materials as well as links to tribal websites and primary source materials found on the web. Tribal information includes constitutions and codes and can be browsed by region, state, and alphabetically.
This is the Lexis legal research platform for the UA campus. Many of the resources in Lexis Advance's Native American Practice Center may also be found on this platform. Must be on campus network or have current UA status to access remotely.
ProQuest Congressional
A great resource for researching Congressional reports, bills, hearings, committee prints, serial set maps, and other documents. For legislative histories of enacted federal legislation, use Legislative Insight. Must be on campus network or have current UA status to access remotely.
When using this database, refer to our library's LibGuide ProQuest Congressional for guidance.
ProQuest Indian Claims Insight
A great resource for researching claims presented to Congress or before the Court of Claims, Indian Claims Commission, US Court of Claims, and US Court of Federal Claims. Must be on campus network of have current UA status to access remotely.
For research guidance in this database, refer to the other ProQuest LibGuide's listed in this section.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
A great resource for federal legislative history research. For research on legislation that was not enacted, use ProQuest Congressional. Must be on campus network or have current UA status to access remotely.
When using this database, check out our library's LibGuide ProQuest Legislative Insight.
ProQuest Regulatory Insight
As a companion to Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories for the period 1936-2016 organized by federal statute and Executive Order. Must be on campus network or have current UA status to access remotely.
When using this database, check out our library's LibGuide ProQuest Regulatory Insight.
Westlaw Native American Law Practice Area
In addition to Westlaw's substantial primary and secondary sources for research and ebooks available on Proview, our license includes tribal codes and court decisions; federal databases specific to federal cases, statutes, and regulations related to Native American law; and secondary sources in the Native American Law Practice Center. Restricted to UA Law (password required).
Lexis Advance Native American Practice Center
In addition to Lexis Advance's substantial primary and secondary sources for research, our license provides access to Lexis Advance's collection of Tribal Codes and Court Decisions. Also include are news sources such as Law360 Native American and Mealey's Native American Law Report. The Practice Center also outlines key topics to create alerts or search filters. Restricted to UA Law (password required).
University of Arizona Libraries Research Databases
In addition to the databases listed on the Cracchiolo Law Library website, UA Libraries provides access to many databases, digital collections, ebooks, ejournals, and print materials relevant to this area of research. Must be on campus network or have current UA status to access remotely.
The following resources are free and open to the public to use and provide information about and for tribal justice systems.
The Tribal Court Clearinghouse
The Tribal Court Clearinghouse is a project of the Tribal Law and Policy Institute, and is a comprehensive website to serve as a resource for American Indian and Alaska Native Nations, American Indian and Alaska Native people, tribal justice systems, victims services providers, tribal service providers, and others involved in the improvement of justice in Indian country. It includes a wealth of tribal, state, and federal resources. The Clearinghouse contains extensive resources on tribal, state, and federal law along with extensive Indian country subject-matter resources, a training events calendar, and resources from all Tribal Law and Policy Institute webinars.
Harvard's Caselaw Access Project (CAP)
CAP includes some tribal court decisions - those published in West's American Tribal Law Reporter (1997-2017). Unfortunately, CAP does not include cases as they are published, cases not designated as officially published, nor, non-published trial documents.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
This is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library, and Native American tribes, which provides access to tribal constitutions, tribal codes, and other tribal legal documents. (While this is an old resource and has not been updated in a number of years, it still is a good resource starting out - think historical information.)
This is a project of the Museum of Indian Arts & Culture in collaboration with the New Mexico State Library Tribal Libraries Program and the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center. The Indigenous Digital Archive will help you explore the history of US government Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries. Explore, annotate and learn from over 500,000 archival documents about Santa Fe Indian School and others, all kinds of boarding school records, yearbooks, and letters.