Immigration Law Clinic Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook (Ira J. Kurzban, 17th ed.) is "the bible" of immigration law which includes discussion of important cases, regulations, statutes and agency rulings. It is designed for use by practitioners and students. 

It is not available online, but is available in print in the library in the reserve collection behind the circulation desk (big green desk) in the library.

There are many immigration treatises and practice guides available. You can find them by looking on Westlaw, Lexis, legal research guides, and the UA library catalog.

Here are some examples of useful sources:

Immigration Law and Procedure (Charles Gordon, Stanley Mailman, and Stephen Yale-Loehr) (available on Lexis)

• Provides a comprehensive analysis of immigration law and procedure. 

Immigration Law & Defense (Immigration Project of the National Lawyers Guild) (Available on Westlaw)

• Follows the progress of a typical immigration case and contains extensive references to statutes, judicial decisions, and regulations. Also provides defense strategies, tactics, and practice tips. 

Immigration Pleading and Practice Manual (Thomas Hutchins) (Available on Westlaw)

• Provides sample immigration filings, detailed supporting legal memoranda, practitioners' notes, and electronic copies of motions and memoranda.

Immigration Law Service 2d (Shane Dizon and Pooja Dadhania) (Available on Westlaw)

• Provides comprehensive analysis and primary source material for practice in the immigration field.

There are many current awareness publications that lawyers, industry folk, advocacy groups and others read to keep up-to-date with immigration legislative and regulatory developments. Some are free and some require subscriptions.

Interpreter Releases (available on Westlaw)

• Weekly analysis of legislative, administrative, and judicial developments related to immigration law.

American Immigration Council: Practice Advisories (available from American Immigration Council website)

• Advisories for practitioners on various immigration law issues

Immigration Briefings (available from Westlaw

• Provides in-depth analysis of a timely immigration law topic each month.

Interpreter Releases (available from Westlaw)

• Provides weekly analysis of legislative, administrative, and judicial developments related to immigration law.

There are a variety of lawyers, organizations, advocacy groups, etc. with websites/blogs dedicated to keeping others up-to-date on developments in immigration law.

Here are a few examples:

Blog: Think Immigration

Blog of the American Immigration Lawyers Association.

ImmigrationProf Blog

Written by a group of immigration law professors.

Immigration Advocates Network

News from Immigration Advocates Network (IAN) which is dedicated to expanding access to immigration legal resources and information through collaboration and technology.