International Law Students Resource Guide

The library Reference Desk, located on the main floor of the Law Library near the CatPrints WEPA printer, is staffed by a team of professional law librarians and law library fellows and who are available to assist you with your research needs. Assistance is available on a drop-in or appointment basis; an appointment is recommended if you need more in-depth research assistance. 

The Reference Librarians may:

• Provide trainings on using research databases and subject-specific data sources;
• Suggest appropriate resources and research strategies;
• Offer advice on researching for a substantial paper or article;
• Assist you with locating and accessing resources, both in and outside the law library's collection; 
• Give library tours and extended explanations of the law library's information systems, services, and collection; and
• Provide referrals to other institutions or libraries, as needed. 

The Reference Librarians cannot do research for you, provide in-depth assistance on graded research assignments, or offer legal advice.

In addition to stopping by in person, you can also email the Reference Desk at AskLawRef@email.arizona.edu or call (520) 621-5455.

The Reference Desk is open Monday through Friday; please check the law library's website for specific hours of operation. 

University of Arizona Library Catalog

• To locate a physical book in the law library, or other library on campus, or access a digital resource such as an e-book or article, search this university-wide library catalog.
• You can also request books in other University of Arizona libraries through the catalog, and have them delivered for pick-up at the law library.
• Ask a librarian at the circulation desk should you need assistance.

Basic Legal Research Tutorials -- This four-part tutorial series prepared by the Center for Innovation in Legal Education gives a primer on case law, statutes, regulations, and secondary sources.

Computer Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) -- CALI offers a wide range of self-paced introductory legal research lessons. Access is free to Arizona law students. First-time users must register using a student authorization code. Ask a librarian for assistance.

Georgetown Law Library: Research Guides, Treatise Finders &Tutorials -- Georgetown Law Library has an extensive selection of research guides and tutorials on American law topics. Research guides can be a resource to use when beginning your research in a new area of law.

Harvard Law Library: Research Guides -- Harvard Law Library has a wide collection of over 100 research guides curated by law librarians.

University of Cincinnati Law Library Research Guides & Tutorials -- This website provides a large collection of research guides and research tutorials, including resources on using the main legal research databases, Westlaw and Lexis.

Legal Research in a Nutshell -- This e-book, part of the West Academic Study Aids collection, covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject. You must be on the university network or logged into West Academic to access this resources. See the Law Library's Student Services webpage "Study Aids" section for how to set up your West Academic Study Aids Account.

A Short & Happy Guide to Advanced Legal Research -- Another e-book that is part of the West Academic Study Aids collection. It provides an up-to-date overview of a broad range of legal research topics. You must be on the university network or logged into West Academic to access this resources. See the Law Library's Student Services webpage "Study Aids" section for how to set up your West Academic Study Aids Account.

Westlaw Training -- Westlaw offers several training certification modules to develop legal research skills. Westlaw log-in credentials are required to use this resource.

Lexis Training -- The LexisNexisLawSchools YouTube channel offers tutorials on learning how to use the Lexis database to conduct legal research.